you’ll always be our cylon, anders

I really like the remake of the show V. I didn’t watch the old series, but this one not only has a lot of people I enjoy watching, but the story isn’t all about fighting and superpowers, for a sci-fi show.

V (2009) Episodes 6 & 7

I watched last week’s episode and this week’s together; man, I gotta say, I got really tense watching Joshua try to hijack the face-vision broadcast with the Fifth Column message. They didn’t use any theatrical “against the clock” shenanigans, but I still felt it. Same with Ryan and Georgie on the V ship, this was a little more slow-rolling than the hijack message, but I kept thinking “Just a little more… just a liiiiittle bit more…”

There’s a new writing staff (or just 1 writer? or producer? I don’t really know who does what in TV shows) for V after the first 4 episodes last fall, according to io9. I’m not really the best critic, and the break between the first 4 and these episodes was large enough that I didn’t have any lasting impression of the first 4, but man, I feel like this show just sticks to its guns: it knows what’s going for it and just keeps pumping that part up.

This really is episodic TV, so the whole show is like one big slow-roll-fest, but still. Valerie’s pregnancy, and then Joshua’s ominous message to Ryan aboard the V ship… we all know it’s a strange pregnancy, and they just keep building up the tension on that… I can’t wait to see how that turns out. Chad Decker’s private investigation got a huge boost from the smallest occurrence: meeting with Father Jack. His story was always kind of off to the side, since he wasn’t really part of any faction; he interacts with Anna and the other guy (apparently his name is Marcus, according to Wikipedia, the source of truth), and kind of does his own thing, but he doesn’t really support anyone. But now… he’s met with The Resistance! He’s a detective! He’s making money deals with Inara! His is one of the most interesting stories to me.

The whole “Tyler’s dad is not his dad” thing felt kind of hollow to me. It’s basically a plot device to make him side more with Lisa and the Vs, to me. It’s unnecessary. I’m still interested in Supergirl though, because I want to know if she’s really on Anna’s side or not. Sometimes it seems like she’s really sympathizing with Tyler… but then, these last couple episodes definitely threw her into “evil lizard bitch” territory. It didn’t help that, in these two episodes, we got to see John May’s stepson’s V-girlfriend go Sabretooth on Hobbes and Erica.

But man, the biggest slow-roll-that-wasn’t-a-slow-roll was definitely in episode 6, when Ryan’s getting scanned by Joshua and the other guy. The whole time, I’m thinking “Oh shit, they don’t know they’re both on the same side, so one of ’em’s gonna die and the 3rd guy will be all like rawr” and then… zomg, handshake. Yeesh. Had me on the edge of my seat for sure. Maybe I’m just not good at reading into this stuff. In hindsight, if there really were a fight, it would’ve broken this whole political-stalemate completely open and the story probably would’ve gone to hell. However, I’m glad they’re still going spy-vs-spy.

I’m looking forward to next week’s episode with relish!

EDIT: Oh right, and Anders is a cylon again. Except he’s already dead. Meh.

Leave a comment