scars of mirrodin prerelease

I’ll go into match details later (catching up on WoW now, lol), but I played in 2 sealed events and a 2HG in the last 24 hours and did quite well, if I do say so myself, winning 18 packs, finishing with a total record of 7-1 in sealed and 3-0 in 2HG. At the midnight sealed, I concocted a white-red aggro deck for the 1st, 3rd, and 4th rounds, while I switched it up with a black-green Infect deck for round 2. First round I lost to bad draws, but swept the remaining 3 rounds with control cards when I needed them and ridiculous aggro at all other times. In the sealed deck this morning, I ended up in green-white with 3 Molder Beasts, 2 Bellowing Tanglewurms, and a True Conviction. Turns out trample is really, really good.

In 2HG, I played with Matt Becker (of Unlocking Competitive Magic fame) and we crafted a white-green Metalcraft deck and a black-red removal-heavy Infect deck. We had a couple semi-bombs, Indomitable Angel and Sword of Body and Mind, but otherwise just played aggressive midrange decks that had the means to quickly gain advantage and then keep up pressure until we drew something to break the game open.

Leave a comment