now that i know wordpress embeds tweets, time to be lazy with my package posts

Got back from Europe the other day and had a bunch of packages waiting for me! I already spent all day yesterday reading Overlord 4, which was great. Not too much to comment on regarding the new additions aside from Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash, which deserves mention for being a collaboration between J-Novel Club and Seven Seas Entertainment.

Just the other day I subscribed to J-Novel Club and read the first volume of “If It’s for My Daughter, I’d Even Defeat a Demon Lord,” which has a manga adaptation that’s absolutely adorable. Looking forward to spending more time perusing their library. However, I’ve already discovered a major disappointment, which is that any novels they have released as e-books are no longer available to read for members. This is “offset” by the premium membership, which costs over twice as much but only gives you a credit to buy 1 book per month.

To further add injury, though, they claim that the premium credit gives you a premium version of the e-book that cannot be purchased normally. At least you can buy premium credits à la carte, so someone who consumes as much content as I do isn’t bottlenecked by the monthly credit, but the credits cost less with the premium membership too… maybe I sound a bit entitled, but I feel like this is a somewhat exploitative program for people like me who just want to read a lot of stuff. It’s like going to the library and discovering a new series to read, but for them to only have books 3 and up :/

Leave a Reply

