a day of good news

So I’ll lead off with less news and just remarks. Boku no Hero Academia anime is in the sports festival arc, and just like the first season, they’ve perfectly capture the spectacle and excitement of the manga. A lot of fun to watch! Granblue Fantasy has also aired its first episode following the anime-preview double-episode from January, and it’s looking great. Obviously, events in the anime are changed from how they play out in the game, but I think they adapted it well.

So, what exciting things were announced today at SakuraCon? First, Aniplex has announced that it’s translating and releasing Fate/Grand Order in the US this summer!

http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2017-04-15/aniplex-to-release-fate-grand-order-smartphone-game-in-u.s/.114884

Here’s the English announcement trailer (which is simply the original announcement trailer with English subs :x):

For any current Fate/GO players, this is an entirely new server, so there is no option to transfer your Japanese account over. Unfortunate, but they have announced that the original audio will be used, everything will just be translated, and there will even be US-exclusive Servants. Whether this means the game will eventually come to other regions is unknown at this point. I’m happy to be able to experience the story in English, though, even if I can’t have my current JP progress :)

Second, Yen Press has announced licenses for new titles, and 2 of them are must-preorders for me.

http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2017-04-15/yen-press-licenses-saga-of-tanya-the-evil-acca-13-one-week-friends-a-polar-bear-in-love-more/.114879

Can you guess what they are? Check after the jump ;)

I’ll troll you for a bit by going over the other titles I may or may not add to my list. First, The Saga of Tanya the Evil/Youjo Senki. I hated the anime’s character designs, but the story itself is pretty fun, and I do like the manga designs. I’m on the fence about the LNs, since I’m not sure I want to read about Tanya in what is clearly a military-focused story. However, the manga has good character designs and great reaction faces, so I might pick it up.

One Week Friends/Isshukan Friends is a really cute story, but I’m not sure I want to own the manga. It’s a good pickup though.

Monster Tamer Girls sounds interesting, I might give it a look-see when it releases.

Though You May Burn To Ashes/Tatoe Hai ni Natte mo is a pretty interesting psychological/death game series about a group of people who died and are forced to play a gambling game against each other while inhabiting female bodies. The problem is that the current scans aren’t that far and they’re still in the first game, so it’s hard to say whether I’d want to keep reading it. I would be more on board with something like Tomodachi Game, which, although it too is only in its… second game…? it has been exciting enough to make me want to read more.

As Miss Beelzebub Likes/Beelzebub-jou no Okinimesu Mama is one I have not heard of before, but the cover looks cute and the premise is something in my interests, so I’ll probably check it out.

So, which books am I supremely excited for…?

slime1

Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken/Regarding my Reincarnation as a Slime is first! This story is pretty great, about a fairly regular guy who finds himself reincarnated into a blue blob of a slime in a fantasy world. He happens to come across something amazing in the cave he reincarnates into, which allows him to become strong enough to leave the cave and explore the world beyond. I really enjoy the manga adaptation, so I am excited to read the original story.

kumo1

Second, Kumo desuga, Nani ka?/I’m a Spider, So What? is kind of similar, it’s about a high school girl who randomly is transported to a fantasy world… but as a spider. However, she still has stats and levels, so she learns to control her new spider powers and level up new skills in order to survive against the various monsters who all just see her as food. Another interesting story that gets you invested in the main character while holding its cards close to its chest; you’re not really sure whether there is a larger story that will be explored, but she’s the underdog and you constantly wonder how she can make it through each crisis.

Both of these pictures are from the manga, since that’s what I’m familiar with, but I’m sure the LNs have wonderful art as well <3

Leave a comment