new arrivals, and pax!

So over the last couple weeks, I got a few packages but neglected to post pictures. That shall be rectified right now, with the additional promise of a follow up post about PAX West!

french_manga_aug16

First off, my mom was in Europe visiting her family and she was able to stop by some bookstores (FNAC etc.) and pick up random manga. I actually have yet to sit down and read the ones I got last summer, so these will just be added to the piles haha. I am definitely happy to be able to get them in a language I can read, though!

yenpress_aug16

Here’s August’s Yen Press releases. Joining the collection are Baccano! volume 2, Index volume 8, and Sword Art Online volume 8. These are series I’m not actively reading yet, but I do know that Index 8 covers the Remnant arc from season 2 of the anime, and SAO 8 is a collection of short stories, including the murder-mystery from season 1 of the anime and the Calibur mini-arc, as well as a story that wasn’t animated if I gleaned enough information from skimming it. Trinity Seven just continues the story where it left off, ending with a nice one-two sequence where we see a couple timely arrivals.

Nozaki 4 is nearing the end of the animated strips, but also includes some strips that were left out of the anime adaptation, probably for time/consistency. These strips introduce Nozaki’s brother, with some flashbacks featuring his mother and father. I would assume that volume 5 will start delving into material for the entire cast that hasn’t been animated yet.

Hataraku Maou-sama 5 I finished on the plane from my new project in Memphis to Seattle. It felt rather similar in overall plot structure to the last volume, where the cast is doing some random, mundane activity, and somehow it relates to the baddy’s plans. As usual, the star of the novel is in the slice of life and just bouncing characters off one another. Every characters’ relationships in the main cast get touched on and change or grow, with a couple characters getting some upgraded scenarios in the story which will hopefully mean that treatment will continue into future volumes. The villain this time was kind of weird, with his objectives being less menacing than the newfound knowledge we obtained of one of the forces working against our protagonists. I’m looking forward to the next volume!

Finally, we’ve got DanMachi 6, the first entire volume in English to surpass the anime! I’ve only gotten a short way into it, but it definitely appears to share a common theme with a multitude of Korean manhwa, mainly the topic of bullying, or abuse of power. This is definitely something that came up in previous DanMachi novels, but I think this is the first time it’s the main plot rather than a subplot. I feel like power abuse plots are somewhat low-hanging fruit as far as character development goes, because most readers will readily side with the party being bullied and condemn the party doing the bullying, but we’ll see how Omori handles it.

opm_sep16

Last, here’s a package I just picked up today, from the VIZ sale that was on RightStuf a couple weeks ago. I’m taking the plunge into the One Punch Man world! And just in time for volume 8, which appears to be material beyond the anime! Along with that, I got the new volumes for D-FRAG and Monster Musume as well.

Anyway, stay tuned for my PAX post!

Leave a Reply

