i swear i want to update this blog more…

rs65

I don’t think I mentioned it before, but I was laid off from my full-time job, so I’m back in consulting. This means for the last 3 months, I’ve been flying across the country every week to work, which doesn’t leave a lot of time to indulge in my hobbies :x and whenever I have a break, I want to indulge in my hobbies and don’t have time to blog ;)

But, (un?)fortunately, my current contract got canceled early, because we literally did too good a job and there is no work to do. I’ll be submitted for a new contract that starts in July, but that at least gives me this next week working remote, then 2 weeks off to kind of recuperate. The next project I know about is at least much closer, so flights won’t be as big a pain.

Anywho, onto the good stuff! Here we have a mixed package, some new stuff, some old stuff. Old stuff includes D-Frag, Arpeggio, and Trinity Seven, which have less to talk about since they’re long ongoing. Nozaki-kun and Horimiya are more exciting for me, first because I haven’t read the Nozaki manga so it’s always fun to see how the anime came from the source. Second, Horimiya’s recent chapters have been excellent, so having the official English version to peruse is awesome.

New manga: Not Lives, and Abandoned Sacred Beasts. Not Lives is another foray into the “stuck in a game” genre, except it’s framed more like one of those social trap stories, like Real Account or Judge/Doubt. The main character finds himself controlling a female avatar and seems to be in some sort of game. He quickly learns that he’s actually in control of another person in a strange fighting game of death. Losing means the “avatar” is killed, and the “player” becomes a new avatar for a new player. It’s quite far in Japan, seeming to be wrapping up the story within the year, or at least the current arc appears to be the final one.

Abandoned Sacred Beasts is, strangely enough, artist Maybe’s first manga printed in English. Why is it so strange? Maybe’s completed, more well-known manga is Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia, which has an anime released by Sentai Filmworks. Perhaps they did not want to license an already-completed manga… but Crunchyroll has Tales of Wedding Rings, Maybe’s other currently ongoing manga, on their digital platform. Which means we’re getting Abandoned Sacred Beasts in physical form while Tales of Wedding Rings is only digital :X anyway, Maybe’s art is gorgeous, very detailed and high-quality, which makes it a great title to own. This is also my first Vertical manga; I have Kizumonogatari (which I am holding off on reading to watch the anime films first), but haven’t had reason to get any of their manga releases yet. They’re releasing stuff like the Attack on Titan novels, Cardfight Vanguard, From the New World, Knights of Sidonia, Gundam, Nichijou, Witchcraft Works… nothing I’ve really been interested in, but they’re also releasing Mysterious Girlfriend X in omnibus editions, which is something I’ll probably have to pick up. Very good manga.

OK, that covers the manga, so let’s talk a little bit about, in my opinion, the most exciting new item: the Overlord novel. Once again, we have a story about a person getting stuck in a game. However, the big twists make this a very interesting story and sets it apart from its companions: first, the main character has one of the most powerful characters in the game, and appears to be the only person stuck in the game; second, the NPCs supporting his guild, the most well-known power of “evil” in the game, have come to life, and he’s forced to put up a front, “pretending” to be the character he created in order to make sure they follow him and not risk them betraying him. I enjoyed the anime adaptation quite a bit, but I really just like the way this story is constructed, so I’m excited to read it and collect all the novels, which have wonderful art and are gloriously hardcover.

This is my collection post, so, maybe before next month, I’ll get another post in about games I’m playing or something ;)

Leave a Reply

