rags – theros block draft – may 11, 2014

draft_2014-11-5

So, in remembrance of my last day in Madison, I decided to go out and draft Nyx/BNG/Theros when I know basically nothing about any of the sets ;) The most I got was a really general overview of the archetypes from friend Alan who died and went to Seattle. The rares I opened were Dictate of Karametra, Fated Return, and Daxos of Meletis. Point of interest, the person on my left opened a foil Thoughtseize :/

Anyway, knowing nothing about what cards are in the sets, I thought to myself “Hey, Interpret the Signs seems like a pretty cool card, let’s take that!” Which followed that since the next pack had a Polymorphous Rush, a rare with the same color as my first pick (!), I took that too. After that, I started taking actual cards and not being an idiot. I believe I started with Colossal Heroics, since semi-Overrun effects seem good. Golden Hind and Nessian Game Warden also got picked pretty early. I also took Bloodcrazed Hoplite kind of early, thinking it could go well with the Colossal Heroics, but the rest of the black cards seemed pretty bad so I quickly jumped ship. However, I did get Cloaked Siren and Bladetusk Boar pretty late, as well as Stormchaser Chimera, so I decided to go for UG splash R, which ended up working out rather well. In packs 2 and 3, I prioritized fixing and flyers, first-picking the Satyr Wayfinder and getting Peregrination pretty early. I was overimpressed with Sphinx’s Disciple, grabbing 2, but ended up only playing 1 due to its small body. Pack 3 was kind of haphazard. I just took the Daxos because I thought maybe I could splash it, then Anax and Cymede because it was rare and I wasn’t too impressed with anything else in the pack. Luckily, I picked up a Traveler’s Amulet and a lot of solid cards in a passed Polis Crusher (!!!), Welkin Tern Vaporkin, the two Horizon Chimeras, and two Leafcrown Dryads.

There were a lot of red removal cards I saw going around, but didn’t really feel like I had enough red to support them consistently, which is why I passed them. I ended up with the sole Fall of the Hammer for my hard removal, hoping I could just ramp into flyers or big groundstompers. With my high flyer density, I also passed on the green flyer hate, and didn’t see any good counterspells or bounce in blue – well, I did see a Dissolve, but I think it was between that or Leafcrown Dryad and I felt like I’d rather just have more early creatures.

My games played out pretty unspectacularly. First match was against someone playing white-red heroic. In game 1, he had a Cavalry Pegasus with Ephara’s Radiance, Impetuous Sunchaser, and Satyr Hoplite, getting off to a very early assault on me. I was able to stabilize with both Horizon Chimeras and Nessian Game Warden, eventually drawing Polis Crusher to just go really big. Game 2 he overwhelmed me with multiple spells that boosted 2 creatures while I kept drawing spells and lands. Game 3 I was able to survive with Fall of the Hammer when he tried to Ajani’s Presence to win, going down to 1 life, but I had Colossal Heroics to swing back for the win from 11.

Match 2 was against a black/white deck. Game 1 he just played some ground durdles and I played flyers and bigger ground durdles, which just netted me a quick win. Game 2 he flooded out. Match 3 was the most fun, against a black/red opponent. Game 1 I faced Grim Guardian into Ordeal of Erebos into big-butt durdle with Aspect of Gorgon >_< (2/3 vanilla minotaur?). I had an OK board, but he also played back-to-back Flurry of Horns, and I could not survive the attrition. Game 2 he kept an awkward hand with Fated Return, but flooded out so my acceptable curve was enough to win. Game 3 he again led with Grim Guardian, this time throwing Nyx Infusion on it, but again had a 3/6 Aspect of the Gorgon-enchanted creature. I was able to get out Nessian Game Warden to stall the Guardian, but was hanging at a very precarious <10 life total. Playing a Leafcrown Dryad as a creature, I was able to start stabilizing when I cast and strived Colossal Heroics to kill his Grim Guardian and 1/2 double-striker, swung in for 4, then used Breaching Hippocamp to double-block his 3/6 deathtouch. From there, his board was only a 1/1 deathtouch snake, which he supplemented with a Pillar of War and then a 3/3 inspired intimidator. However, at that point, I already had a superior board position between my random flying creatures and scrying shenanigans. I drew both Bladetusk Boar and Fall of the Hammer from my Sphinx's Disciple untapping, which sealed the game away.

So, being my remembrance last-draft, I'm going to use this meager pool to start my new "from rags to riches" blog!

Since it was at I'm Board, the draft was $10 with no prizes. Thus, I didn't really make out too well. I think the worth of my 4 rares comes out to about $1.50, and I did not get any valuable uncommons.

Current collection:

Sunbond
Interpret the Signs
Colossal Heroics
Goldenhide Ox
Nessian Game Warden
Peregrination
Pheres-Band Raiders
Satyr Piper
Horizon Chimera x2
Stormchaser Chimera

Polymorphous Rush
Anax and Cymede
Daxos of Meletis
Polis Crusher

Money spent: $10

Leave a Reply

