changes

I meant to blog at least a few times since the last time, but I’ve been busy with various things. First, Destiny of Spirits came out, a free-to-play game on the Vita, and it kind of sucked all my time away. The way the game is currently going, my passion for it has definitely died down, but I’ll still be playing it on the side and for trophies. Essentially, you make a team of spirits and go around the world beating up evil spirits. The battles are vaguely Final Fantasy ATB-style, and there’s a shared magic bar that slowly fills up over time. Similar to Puzzle & Dragons, the leader of your team has a special ability that is always in effect, and you can borrow someone else’s leader to also get its effect. The really cool thing about the game is the Hunt system. If you travel anywhere, out of town, to the coffee shop, to work, on vacation, at least 1 kilometer, you can hunt and find “local” spirits. You can find different spirits based on the area you are where you hunt. So, since I currently live in the Midwest US, I’m finding a lot of Native American-based spirits, but if I went to Mexico I would find more Aztec/Mayan spirits, or if I go to Europe I would find Greek, Norse, and Slavic spirits. Combined with the trading system, it’s actually quite a challenge to collect every spirit in the game.

I’ve also been busy trying to move. I’m planning to move to the Pacific Northwest sometime in the next couple weeks, so there’s been a lot of packing and driving and general work to do on that front. As always, I make time to watch my weekly anime as well as Agents of SHIELD (season finale next week!), but I just never found enough to write about for a blog post. I was able to sell off a bunch of Magic cards for almost a grand; turns out I had a lot of pretty pricey stuff collecting dust in the corner, so even though it’s sad to lose some of my collection, I’m glad I got real value out of it. As far as hobbies go, Magic is one of the better ones in terms of ROI.

While I am watching a lot of anime this season, I’ve already dropped quite a few, which is kind of rare for me. In the order of the folders on my computer: Akuma no Riddle, Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou, Captain Earth, Date-A-Live season 2, Gochuumon wa Usagi desu ka?, Haikyuu!!, Coffin Princess Chaika, The Irregular in Magic High School, Mekakucity Actors, Nanana’s Buried Treasure, Nisekoi, NO GAME NO LIFE, Isshukan Friends, Seikoku no Dragonar, Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii, Soul Eater NOT!, and Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara. Of those, I would highly recommend NO GAME NO LIFE, Captain Earth, and Coffin Princess Chaika.

I’m probably going to start blogging more after I move, since I plan to do something kind of neat with my return to Magic. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment