let’s fling some bones!

So somehow I went undefeated in tonight’s FNM. I had a pretty solid deck, I won’t lie, but it was pretty mediocre compared to some of the other decks I saw being piloted… First pick Burden of Guilt was pretty facepalm (crap rare, crap uncommons, my first-pick choices were either Burden of Guilt or Death’s Caress), second pick Farbog Boneflinger set me into black/white. I picked up a couple Loyal Cathars, Gather the Townsfolk, Skirsdag Flayer, and went to town.

Burden of Guilt, Undying Evil

Avacynian Priest, Loyal Cathar x2, Skirsdag High Priest, Skirsdag Flayer, Silverchase Fox, Gather the Townsfolk, Skillful Lunge, Bonds of Faith, Moment of Heroism

Screeching Bat, Midnight Guard, Falkenrath Torturer, Village Bell-Ringer, Voiceless Spirit, Rebuke

Galvanic Juggernaut

Farbog Boneflinger x2, Morkrut Banshee, Harrowing Journey

Not sure how I got there, especially since mid pack 2 I was getting stone nothing, zero black or white cards in the pack, so I started taking the random blue uncommon bombs after getting a last-pick Tower Geist in DKA. I ended up having enough in BW to not need to splash, but I didn’t have a lot of confidence in my small creatures.

My second match ended up going to time in a draw after I lost game 2 to Increasing Confusion. He was able to equip Butcher’s Cleaver on Deranged Assistant and then Preyed Upon my undying-ed Voiceless Spirit to put him to 15; on the last turn, I would have been able to deal 12 damage, so that was slightly frustrating. I did get to dream crush in round 3 after being paired against the only 2-0 in our pod and winning out in 2 games. However, because my first-round opponent was the 0-3 in the pod, my tiebreakers tanked and I got 2nd place :( I haven’t won a FNM foil in quite a long time, and I don’t have much confidence in this format…

PS: I should note that of the 3 packs for draft and 5 prize packs from getting 2nd, the best card I opened was a Thalia. Meanwhile, another guy in a different pod cracks a foil Snapcaster in draft, then a Huntmaster, Mikaeus, and Drogskol Reaver in his prize packs. Any day now, karma! I’m waiting!

Leave a Reply

