storm of souls delayed

I’ve been eagerly waiting for the Ascension: Storm of Souls standalone expansion for a few months now. First, the release date was supposedly November 28. Around that date, I checked on the Ascension website and they announced an official release date of December 16. Now, I check again today and there is apparently an “unavoidable shipping delay” which pushes back retail release until January… but individual preorders will still be fulfilled? Extremely. Disappointed. I preordered through my local game store since they have a nice preorder discount and I wanted to support them, so I won’t see my copy for another month. I just feel that, if individual preorders still go out, there should be a way to get warehouse shipments out as well. “Uncontrollable shipping delay” sounds like a problem with the shipping company, which could be construed as a breach of contract. It would be really hard for them to complain if Gary Games went with another company to honor their product release date. Unfortunately, Ascension is a big enough hit that a shipping delay probably won’t really affect sales, so there’s probably no chance they’ll try to get it out on time.

EDIT: Should note that the Return of the Fallen small expansion was finally added to the Ascension app. This would normally be extremely exciting news… except that it was supposed to have been released sometime around GenCon, 8 months ago… it’s still really fun though. Here’s the highest score I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

