super anime watching fervor has died

I was going strong for almost 2 years, but I have lost the spark… my anime fervor has more or less settled down to a simmer. This season, I had like 10 shows I was watching, Fairy Tail, Kaichou wa Maid-sama, K-ON!!, Seitokai Yakuindomo, Sekirei: Pure Engagement, Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin, Shiki, Amagami SS, Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi, Nurarihyon no Mago, and Highschool of the Dead. Maid-sama was dropped because it was ridiculously boring and I hated Usui’s voice. Occult was similarly dropped because Fumiaki was an incredibly stupid character and the story just wasn’t really interesting enough. Sekirei has been delegated to archives since it’s following the manga exactly (which is a good thing), but then I don’t feel any pressing need to watch it. Nurarihyon… I watched up till 4, have the next 3 episodes downloaded, but have no desire to watch it. They already messed up the first couple episodes, so I have low expectations. Shiki I’ll probably splurge when it’s complete, but it’s not quite interesting enough to watch week to week.

So, what’s left? Fairy Tail is always interesting, as shounen shows are wont to be. I like the voice cast and there doesn’t seem to be any filler ever, so it definitely trumps Bleach for my action quota right now, especially since I’m like a year behind on Bleach. K-ON!! is fun to watch, it’s cute and quirky and I don’t need to worry about bad plot or blatant fan-service since it’s a moeblob show. SYD (screen above) is still pretty hilarious. I did have complaints about how the setting is bleeding for some kind of romance and, by not having one, it contrarily made the show less interesting, but I didn’t have the same feeling after watching episode 9. More seeds have been planted, but the plot and character devices are still interesting when the setting is similarly interesting. Amagami SS is just a straight-up school romance story, so it’s really easy to watch. Ookami is still my favorite show this summer season, so of course I’m still watching it as soon as it’s subbed. Highschool of the Dead has incredibly good animation and is nothing but fanservice, so that makes it really easy to watch too.

So, aside from anime, what else am I up to? I still follow manga when I can (usually at work), but OneManga’s closure and MangaFox taking down more and more licensed series means I have to manage some of my manga at home, which cuts into anime-watching time. The major ones are Hayate no Gotoku and Skip Beat, but I also need to download D.Gray-Man, Katekyo Hitman Reborn, and Bamboo Blade.

I’ve also been monitoring video game deals, as usual, and buying good games for cheap and then never playing them. Except I recently started dipping into that pool. I played around with Trine last week for an evening, which was fun. I dabbled in my other Steam games. Then, this week, GameStop is selling Dragon Age: Origins for $15, so I pretty much had to get it since I was tracking that game through its development. Tip for people who have somewhat complicated computer setups: don’t get digital downloads from GameStop. Their installer extracts onto the C drive by default, and I couldn’t change it. The problem is, I have a 30GB partition set aside specifically for Windows, and have another partition for all my movies, anime, music, games, etc. It’s easier to reformat that way. Well, that means that Dragon Age’s 8GB of extracted data won’t fit on my C drive. After finally getting it installed, I certainly had to stay up playing it, and then, whoa, it was 6am. *Whoops* FF14 open beta also went up tonight, but the servers are so packed I can’t sign up yet.

Magic is certainly dying down for me, since the standard season is all but over. There’s one more tournament in a couple weeks, some TCGPlayer.com invitation, but, more importantly, Scars of Mirrodin prerelease is on the weekend of the 25th. I’ve also been thinking about new EDH decks. I traded for an Ertai, the Corrupted yesterday, and that should be a fun deck to build. Other than that, I’m probably going to take apart Oros to build Kaervek, the Merciless and Lin-Sivvi, Defiant Hero. I’m still going to do FNM and drafts, but, other than that, the only other thing I’ll really be doing with Magic is watching Scars previews to start concocting new standard decks.

One thing definitely taking up a lot of my focus this week is Arkham Horror. I looked into prices and such, accessories, expansions, found that CoolStuffInc.com was probably the best place to order from (prices cheaper than retail, free shipping with over $100 board game purchase), and ordered my own copy. However, that definitely wouldn’t get here in time for Arkham Horror night, which is tomorrow! I borrowed Donovan’s copy at the draft yesterday and am hosting a game tomorrow night. A lot of the Magic group is coming, Alan, Adam, Becker, maybe Wells, Donovan might stop by after whatever he’s doing. BUT! aside from them, Chet and Rachel are also coming, so we should have an awesome, epic game! I’m definitely excited for tomorrow. Then, probably next week, I’ll have to invite people from my starting cohort to play as well.

That more or less concludes my life update. Except by “life” I mean more “the ways I entertain myself when I’m not doing work.” I definitely need to spend some quality anime time sometime soon and clean up my loose ends, since there are around 10 *new* series in the fall that I almost certainly have to watch. Bakuman, Index 2, The World God Only Knows, Sora no Otoshimono 2, toLOVEru 2, OreImo, and MM!… okay, that’s only 7 shows, but they will be 7 shows that I will absolutely be watching every week. So I suppose getting a “break” from hardcore anime-watching will be good for the marathon this fall!

Leave a Reply

