spring 2010 anime lineup

So Chartfag released a new chart recently. I’ll copy other blogs/websites and write a blurb on what I’m planning on watching or checking out.

Ikkitousen: I watched the first 3 series, so I might as well watch this one too. The story is kind of interesting because there are so many references to Romance of the Three Kingdoms; I actually spent a fair amount of time looking up the characters on Wikipedia to see how they were connected to each other in the original novel. Aside from that, it’s got that Saturday-morning-cartoon feel to it, somewhat unlike other anime in my opinion.

Kaichou wa Maid-sama!: I really like the manga, so I think I’ll see how the anime goes. The seiyuus for the main characters are the exact same ones as The Sacred Blacksmith, which is sort of too soon, so hopefully that doesn’t degrade the experience. The animation looks too shounen in the anime adaptation too, which is too bad. The manga is very well drawn, IMO, it’s distinctly shoujo but the characters have very crisp lines like shounen manga do.

Angel Beats: I don’t really know much about this series, but other review sites have stated that it’s on their must-watch list, so I figure I’ll probably enjoy it. Amusing that the poster character is an obvious rip-off of Haruhi.

Ichiban Ushiro no Dai Maou: This one just sounds kind of hilarious from Chartfag’s description :) although other sites say it looks like a generic harem. I think I’ll watch the first couple before deciding to pick it up or not.

Working!: This one wasn’t on my radar at all until I saw that there was an early airing of Episode 1. I watched that and found it to be pretty funny, so I think I’ll watch it. I’ve heard people say it’s a K-ON/moeblob copy show, but just the fact that there are male characters makes it different to me, lol.

Mayoi Neko Overrun!: I have really liked all light novel-adapted anime I’ve seen so far (Shakugan no Shana, To Aru Majutsu no Index, Bakemonogatari, more I’m forgetting), and this one is drawn by Yabuki Kentarou (Black Cat is an awesome manga, and to-LOVE-ru was funny too), so I think I will like it. I hope it’s good!

K-ON!!: Ehh, the first season was entertaining; feels like to anime what flower is to PS3, a relaxing show that doesn’t have overt fanservice, complicated drama, or an epic storyline, just something I can enjoy.

BLACK ROCK SHOOTER: The art just looks awesome, there’s a ton of hype over it, and it’s just an OVA, so I will definitely watch it.

The only show continuing into the Spring that I’m currently watching is, I believe, Fairy Tail. Railgun ended this week, Omamori Himari doesn’t seem like it’ll go beyond another couple episodes (probably 1 more, to make an even 12), FMA:B is winding down to an end, Ookamikakushi ended (somewhat blandly), LvB! is ending this coming week, and I haven’t watched Kobato. in a few months now for some reason. I’ll probably only regularly watch 2-3 of the above series and archive the rest, since the weather is getting nicer and I’ll be working on FF13 endgame.

Leave a Reply

